You are here: Webhelp 5.5R7 > VPN > SSL VPN > SSL VPN Client for Android

SSL VPN Client for Android

The SSL VPN client for Android is Hillstone Secure Connect. It can run on Android 4.0 and above. The functions of Hillstone Secure Connect contains the following items:

  • Obtain the interface information of the Android OS.
  • Display the connection status with the device, traffic statistics, interface information, and routing information.
  • Display the log information of the application.

Downloading and Installing the Client

To download and install the client, take the following steps:

  1. Visit https://www.hillstonenet.com/our-products/next-gen-firewalls-e-series/ to download the installation file of the client.
  2. Use your mobile phone to scan the QR code of the client for Android at the right sidebar, and the URL of the client displays.
  3. Open the URL and download the Hillstone-Secure-Connect-Versione_Number.apk file.
  4. After downloading successfully, find this file in your mobile phone.
  5. Click it and the installation starts.
  6. Read the permission requirements.
  7. Click Install.

After the client being installed successfully, the icon of Hillstone Secure Connect appears in the desktop as shown below:

Starting and Logging into the Client

To start and log into the client, take the following steps:

  1. Click the icon of Hillstone Secure Connect. The login page appears.
  2. If the SSL VPN server enables the SMS authentication, the SMS authentication page will appear. In this page, enter the received authentication code and then submit it. If you do not receive the authentication code, you can request it after one minute.

After the client connecting to the SSL VPN server, the key icon ( ) will appear at the notification area of your Android system.

GUI

After the client connects to the SSL VPN server, you can view the following pages: Connection Status page, Configuration Management page, Connection Log page, System Configuration page, and About Us page.

Connection Status

Click Status at the bottom of the page to enter into the Connection Status page and it displays the statistics and routing information:

  • The Connection Time: Time period during which the client is online.
  • Received Bytes: Shows the received bytes through the SSL VPN tunnel.
  • Sent Bytes: Shows the sent bytes through the SSL VPN tunnel.
  • Server: Shows the IP address or the server name of the device that client connects to.
  • Port: Shows the HTTPs port number of the device.
  • Account: Shows the username that logs into the VPN instance.
  • Private Server Address: Shows the interface’s IP address of the device that the client connects to.
  • Client Private Address: Shows the IP address of the interface. This interface transmits the encrypted traffic and this IP address is assigned by the SSL VPN server.
  • Address Mask: Shows the netmask of the IP address of the interface. This interface transmits the encrypted traffic.
  • DNS Address: Shows the DNS Address used by the client.
  • Routing Information: Shows the routing information for transmitting encrypted data.
  • Disconnection Connection: Click this button to disconnect the current connection with the server.

Configuration Management

Click VPN at the bottom of the page to enter into the Configuration Management page. In this page, you can perform the following operations:

  • Add/Edit/Delete a login entry
  • Modify the login password
  • Disconnect the connection with SSL VPN server
  • Connect to the SSL VPN server

Adding a Login Entry

To facilitate the login process, you can add a login entry that stores the login information. The added login entry will display in the drop-down list of Please Choose in the login page. You can select a login entry and the login information will be filled in automatically.

To add a login entry, take the following steps:

  1. In the Configuration Management page, click the icon at the top-right corner.
  2. Click Confirm to save this login entry.

Editing a Login Entry

To edit a login entry, take the following steps:

  1. In the login entry list, click the one that you want to edit and several buttons will appear.
  2. Click Edit to make the Edit Configuration dialog box appear.
  3. In the dialog box, edit the login entry.
  4. Click Confirm to save the modifications.

Deleting a Login Entry

To delete a login entry, take the following steps:

  1. In the login entry list, click the one that you want to delete and several buttons will appear.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. Click Yes in the pop-up dialog box to delete this login entry.

Modifying the Login Password

To modify the login password, take the following steps:

  1. In the login entry list, click the one that you want to modify the password and several buttons will appear.
  2. Click Modify Password.
  3. Enter the current password and new password in the pop-up dialog box.
  4. Click Confirm to save the settings.

Disconnecting the Connection or Logging into the Client

To disconnect the connection or log into the client, take the following steps:

  1. In the login entry list, click a login entry and several buttons will appear.
  2. If the connection status to this server is disconnected, you can click Login to log into the client; if the connection status is connected, you can click Disconnect Connection to disconnect the connection.
  3. In the pop-up dialog box, confirm your operation.

Connection Log

Click Log at the bottom of the page to enter into the Configuration Log page. In this page, you can view the logs.

System Configuration

Click Config at the bottom of the page to enter into the System Configuration page. In this page, you can configure the following options:

  • Auto Reconnect: After turning on this switch, the client wil automatically reconnect to the server if the connection is disconnected unexpectedly.
  • Show Notify: After turning on this switch, the client icon will display in the notification area.
  • Allow To Sleep: After turning on this switch, the client can stay connected while the Android system is in the sleep status. With this switch turned off, the client might disconnect the connection and cannot stay connected for a very long time while the Android system is in the sleep status.
  • Auto Login: After turning on this switch, the client will automatically connect to the server when it starts. The server is the one that the client connects to the last time.
  • Remember The Password: After turning on this switch, the client wil remember the password and automatically fill in the login entry.
  • Exit: Click Exit to exit this application.

About Us

Click About at the bottom of the page to enter the About US page. This page displays the version information, contact information, copyright information, etc.